Going Strong

Former alternates Kaylee Chen and Morgan Miller advance to match play at U.S. Women’s Amateur Four-Ball

By Gary Baines – 4/21/2022

Coloradan Kaylee Chen and future University of Colorado golfer Morgan Miller, who originally were alternates for the U.S. Women’s Amateur Four-Ball, not only competed in the event, but have earned a berth in the match-play portion of the championship in Puerto Rico.

Chen and Miller backed up their first-round 71 with a better-ball score of 4-under-par 68, finishing 12th out of 64 teams in the stroke-play portion of the event. They finished five strokes behind co-medalists Chloe Kovelsky of Boca Raton, Fla., and Yana Wilson of Henderson, Nev., and Leigh Chien of Irvine, Calif., and Anna Huang of Canada.

Former Junior Golf Alliance of Colorado major champs Chen, from Denver, and Miller, from Cedar Park, Texas, made four birdies in a bogey-free rounds on Thursday. They’ll be among the 32 teams who will begin match play on Friday. In the round of 32, Chen and Miller will face Sydney Hackett and Dawn Woodard of Virginia.

Meanwhile, the other two teams with strong Colorado ties each missed advancing to match play by a single stroke, finishing at 2-under-par 142.

Coloradan Calli Ringsby and former Stanford teammate Shannon Aubert went 72-70. That’s the same as 14 year olds Hadley Ashton of Erie and Brynn Kort of Kingman, Ariz., who originally were alternates for the event, having finished second in a September qualifier in Santa Fe, N.M.

Scores for teams with strong Colorado ties after Thursday’s second round of stroke play at the U.S. Women’s Amateur Four-Ball in Puerto Rico. 


12. Kaylee Chen, Denver/Future CU golfer Morgan Miller 71-68—139


33. Calli Ringsby/Shannon Aubert 72-70–142

33. Hadley Ashton/Brynn Kort 72-70–142

For all the scores, CLICK HERE.

About the Writer: Gary Baines has covered golf in Colorado continuously since 1983. He was a sports writer at the Daily Camera newspaper in Boulder, then the sports editor there, and has written regularly for ColoradoGolf.org since 2009. He was voted into the Colorado Golf Hall of Fame in 2021. Email: ColoradoGolfJournal@mac.com)