End of the Road

CSU-Pueblo men fall in national DII quarterfinals; Thunderwolves won 4 times this season, including a regional

By Gary Baines – 5/19/2022

The Colorado State University-Pueblo men’s golf team saw its season end on Thursday as Georgia Southwestern defeated the Thunderwolves 4-1 in the quarterfinals of the NCAA Division II national championship in Dearborn, Mich.

But what a season it was. In it, CSU-Pueblo:

— Finished among the top eight teams in the nation in men’s Division II — a first for the program.

— Won its first regional title, with the victory coming in its hometown, at Pueblo Country Club.

— Claimed the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference championship for the second straight year.

— In all, earned four team titles this season.

All told, it was quite a ride. But in Thursday’s quarterfinals, Georgia Southwestern ended that ride in the quarterfinals, winning four of the five individual matches. The only CSU-Pueblo player to prevail was senior Andrew Ni, the team’s No. 1 golfer, who prevailed in his match over Chase McClain, 74 to 77.


May 16-20 in Dearborn, Mich.

Thursday’s Quarterfinals — Medal Match

Georgia Southwestern 4, CSU-Pueblo 1

Andrew Ni, CSU-Pueblo, def. Chase McClain, 74 to 77

Simon Estrada, GS, def. Liam Duncan, 71 to 74

Erik Fogel, GS, def. Matt Millar, 75 to 76

Jack Tharrington, GS, def. Jeff Nelson, 75 to 80

Nicolas Escobar, GS, def. Jamie Roberts, 73 to 78

54–Hole Stroke Play

2. CSU-Pueblo 295-297-303—893

15. Liam Duncan 74-74-74—222

19. Matt Millar 73-75-76–224

24. Andrew Ni 78-71-76—225

24. Jamie Roberts 73-77-75—225

51. Jeff Nelson 75-77-78–230

18. Colorado Mesa 311-309-304—924

29. Kyle Pearson 80-79-67–226

61. Peter Grossenbacher 76-76-79–231

81. Timmy Cavarno 76-75-85–236

87. Dakota Gillman 82-79-77–238

92. Yael Chahin 79-80-81–240

For all the results from the medal match play portion of the championship, CLICK HERE.

About the Writer: Gary Baines has covered golf in Colorado continuously since 1983. He was a sports writer at the Daily Camera newspaper in Boulder, then the sports editor there, and has written regularly for ColoradoGolf.org since 2009. He was voted into the Colorado Golf Hall of Fame in 2021. Email: ColoradoGolfJournal@mac.com)