10 of a Kind

Janet Moore teams with Susie Roh to win her 24th CGA/CWGA title, moving closer to the record; it’s the 10th CGA Women’s Mashie Championship for the Colorado Golf Hall of Famer

By Gary Baines – 5/25/2022

Much attention has been focused in recent years on Kim Eaton’s bid to surpass fellow Colorado Golf Hall of Famer Carol Flenniken’s record for number of CGA/CWGA championship titles won in a career, as the two are tied at 25 each.

But at least one other Hall of Famer definitely belongs in that same conversation.

Janet Moore of Cherry Hills Country Club added another CGA title to her ever-expanding resumé on Wednesday as she and partner Susie Roh of Lakewood Country Club defeated Louise Lyle of Patty Jewett Golf Course and Bev Hoffenberg of Columbine Country Club, 1 up, in the championship match of the CGA Women’s Mashie, held at Willis Case Golf Course in Denver.

The victory was Moore’s 24th CGA/CWGA title, which leaves her one behind both Eaton, who is still active in CGA events, and Flenniken, a past winner of the U.S. Girls’ Junior, British Ladies Amateur and Women’s Collegiate Championship who stopped playing in statewide competitions in the early 2000s.

Mashie champions Janet Moore (left) and Susie Roh. (Photo: CGA)

Moore won five CGA/CWGA Women’s Stroke Play titles during the 1990s and now has 19 championships in CGA/CWGA partner tournaments to go with them. That now includes 10 Mashies, five Brassies, three Mixed and one Dunham Chapman. In fact, she’s now won the last two Mashies, having teamed with Marin Halvorsen last year in the better-ball match play event that this week took place at The Meadows as well as Willis Case. Five years ago, Moore and Roh likewise teamed up for the Mashie title.

Moore’s victory total also includes one CGA/CWGA championship with Eaton — the 2018 Brassie, Eaton’s last CGA/CWGA title to date.

For all the results of the various flights from the Women’s Mashie, CLICK HERE.

About the Writer: Gary Baines has covered golf in Colorado continuously since 1983. He was a sports writer at the Daily Camera newspaper in Boulder, then the sports editor there, and has written regularly for ColoradoGolf.org since 2009. He was voted into the Colorado Golf Hall of Fame in 2021. Email: ColoradoGolfJournal@mac.com)